It’s almost Sunday again…

Just a quick intro to my site name, What’s Lorraine watching.  My husband and several friends suggested that Brunswil just wasn’t catchy enough, so when you read my posts you will see that there is a new catchier site name that kind of describes my blog.

It’s going to be a crazy week for me as I leave for the drive to Florida on Wednesday and will probably arrive there on Friday.  TV will obviously take a back seat for me (no pun intended) so I will attempt to keep up with what I can before I go. Once I’m in Florida, we will activate our Comcast cable there and it should be pretty easy to watch most shows I’m following On Demand as all the cable and network shows are usually available on demand within 24 hours of airing.  I am a little spoiled in Canada because Rogers has purchased the rights to most of the top cable shows that originate on networks like HBO, Showtime, Starz, etc. and they can be viewed on HBO Canada.  In the US, subscriptions to these premium cable networks have to be purchased separately.  Oh the agony!!  In the meantime a little reminder for you of shows I’m following and will have to catch up on at some point:

The Knick (last episode of Season 1 aired last night)

Hell on Wheels

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver

CBS Sunday Morning

Fareed Zakaria GPS

Masterpiece Classic

Masterpiece Mystery

Homeland

The Affair

The Good Wife

Madam Secretary

Outlander

Boardwalk Empire

Gotham

Jane the Virgin

Sleepy Hollow

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

Stephen Colbert

The Mindy Project

Covert Affairs

Sons of Anarchy

Chicago Fire

The Middle

Red Band Society

Modern Family

Legends

Nashville

Dominion

Scandal

Gracepoint

And oh yes, The Walking Dead returned last Sunday. For a great article on this show, I’m including a link to John Doyle’s column in today’s Globe:

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/arts/television/john-doyle-10-reasons-why-the-walking-dead-is-a-massive-hit/article21154069/#dashboard/follows/

I know my list of shows is daunting.  Many friends have told me shamefacedly that they don’t even have time to read my blog, nevermind, keep up with any of the shows I’m watching. To each his or her own. I’m just putting these shows out there to let you know that there is a lot of tv that is worth watching. You don’t have to just channel surf aimlessly until you find something that tickles your fancy.  That is a pretty inefficient way to watch tv.  Remember, most 60 minute shows have about 20 minutes of commercials and 30 minute shows have about 10 minutes of commercials.  I try not to watch anything in real time and I record as much as possible on a PVR so that I can watch when it’s convenient for me.  In the meantime, enjoy the fall weather (after a glorious autumn, today’s weather in Thornbury is a little bleak, windy and wet), whether it’s indoors on blustery days or outdoors when the sun is shining and takes a little of the chill out of the air.  I will post a new blog when I get settled in the sunny south.

One thought on “It’s almost Sunday again…

  1. “… My husband and several friends suggested that Brunswil just wasn’t catchy enough …”

    On the other hand, when it comes to catching the imagination, most of us are still trying to figure out what “Brunswil” actually means. That’ll keeps us speculating for months.

    Anyway, on the topic of the post, I find that rush hour, for me, is twenty-one hundred on Wednesday night. Seven programs recording at once. Sunday night comes close but no cigar. Who’d a thunk it? I mean, its Wednesday night, right? Probably says something about the “stuff” that I watch.

    If only I had time to watch them all. The PVR cheerfully tells me that I have 1800 recordings pending. Good for me if I ever get run over by a bus and have to recuperate in a body cast for six weeks. Hope they leave my remote thumb free. I’m with you Lorraine. There ain’t no shortage of good stuff to watch. Only a shortage of disk space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

